Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Xylitol does not dissolve in mct oil with climabazole?

Default Xylitol does not dissolve in mct oil with climabazole?

I was reading the posts of Tom and he said xylitol is water based and dissolve in almost everything except 100% oil.

The lotion Tom has in his PDF is complicated for me so I just plan on using Climbazole dissolved in MCT oil and add xylitol on it.

Can I add xylitol in mct oil?

If I can't add right away, what can I do to xylitol in my mct / climbazole solution

i feel like i'm talking to myself but if tom is online hopefully he can answer..

ok so i've been reading about lotion making from and i got an idea about emulsifier to mix oil and water..

but i dont know what kind of emulsifier to use for my mtc oil/climbazole and xylitol/distilled water..

any other resources how to properly choose the types of emulsifier and also at what temperature i should be mixing them..

i only want my lotion very simple because i'm a beginner.. and i plan to use it at night only so i dont have to worry that my face looks greasy..

Hi brom, you can dissolve the xylitol in water, and heat it to 165F for 20 minutes -- this is the water phase. Then combine it with the oil phase, also heated to 165F for 20 minutes, which can consist of 2% MCT oil, and about 0.3% Cromollient SCE, which is a solubilizer/co-emulsifier (hence, SCE). The result will be very thin, like water, and will not be a very aesthetic lotion because it will run through your fingers and roll down your face when you apply it, but it will be somewhat functional if your purpose is to test 2% MCT oil and xylitol.

Finally, because it's an oil-in-water emulsion, you must add 0.5% Optiphen ND, or some other "real" preservative. You'll need dedicated glassware, like Pyrex, and not something you cook iin or drink out of. You'll need a digital scale.