Thread: chronic flare up

Default chronic flare up

Hi, I'm a newbie here, this is my first ever post- just wanted some advice

I'm a 20 year old Caucasian female from the UK with pretty bad rosacea- papopustular telangiectatic with facial flushing. I see a dermatologist and currently on a management plan of moxonodine for the facial flushing, Soolantra cream and Lymecycline antibiotics- have been on this since mid summer time and It appeared to be working pretty well until a few days ago when I have had a chronic flare up (cant put my finger on any triggers apart from mild stress/ cold weather)- all across my cheeks and nose the skin is burning,and is red, hard and scaly. Started as smaller plaques on the inside of my face but has spread, now appears raised red burning patches- skin is now very swollen (edema) and has that orange peel like appearance.

I dont want to put my prescription topical stuff on as it burns- would be grateful for advice on anything (how to cool the skin/reduce inflammation/ reduce the swelling/ soften the skin so it goes back to normal texture?? )

I'm normally so confident and happy but my skin really bothers me, I feel so self conscious and don't want anyone to see me.

Thanks,
    Olivia

That sound more like a reaction to a chemical that you're using than typical rosacea. I've had a reaction like that before. Your doctor might prescribe steroids for a few days if that's the problem. That gets rid of the discomfort pretty quickly and then it also reduces the healing time. When it's happened to me, they prescribed pills rather than a cream because they said steroid cream can thin out the skin on the face and make it look aged.

How long ago were you diagnosed with rosacea?

Hi,