Thread: Rosacea- a doctors experience

Default Rosacea- a doctors experience

Hello everyone… My name is Dan and I’m a 31 year old doctor. This is my first post here but I have read with interest all the good information and experiences on this site. I just wanted to share my own with you.

I will preface this by saying I am not a dermatologist. I am training in orthopaedic surgery, and so my dermatology knowledge is pretty much limited to the minimum amount required to pass finals at medical school. Only 6 months ago, I knew virtually nothing about rosacea, other than it existed. And no, I also do not have any pecuniary interest in Soolantra either.

Now I have never suffered with bad skin. Aside from a few pubescent pimples which nearly all teenagers suffer from, my skin has been clear. Inexplicably 6 months ago, my whole face broke out into horrible blotches and pimples. But they were not your typical spots: they didn't come to a head, just raised red lumps which took a long time to go (2-3 weeks). I even attempted to ‘pop’ a few- which released nothing but clear, oedematous fluid. There were also red, scaly patches of skin. These were not raised at all, but looked just as unsightly. At first I thought it was just stress, and they would soon go. But more and more began to crop up. What was most distressing to me was that they often left a brownish discolouration of my skin once they had gone. I also began noticing telangiectasia on my cheeks and bridge of my nose.

I felt miserable- I avoided looking in the mirror, and my self esteem began to suffer. I hated it when talking to someone and I could see them talking directly to the breakout on my cheek. So I ran a google search and pretty quickly reached the conclusion that it was type 2 rosacea. So I took myself off to the GP- who diligently gave the ‘incurable but how to avoid breakouts’ spiel. He also prescribed topical metronidazole and oral doxycycline.