Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Benefits of Rosacea

Default Benefits of Rosacea

Yes you read it right, benefits! I've been suffering from Rosacea since I was about 13 and it was crippling for my social life, self-esteem and... well I'm sure you know the deal. My outbreaks were consistent and fierce, but now I have things (almost) under control. I'm a teacher in a typically hot country, so you can guess the kind of impact my outbreaks can have.

Anyway, this is the first time I've ever spoken about the problem, and I mean to anyone at all, so this post is kind of a big deal to me. I think this condition results in a tendency to be very introspective and to think a lot about ourselves and the way Rosacea affects us and the people around us (just my opinion).

This forum has been enlightening for me and for the first time I feel like I'm not alone. I titled this post 'Benefits of Rosacea' is because I want to explain how I've cultivated a positive outlook from the condition.

Due to my introspection, I believe I have become more sensitive to others, and can recognize when somebody if uncomfortable or embarrassed about something, due to the fact that I can see in them what I have felt myself. I'm not calling myself a saint, far from it, but I'm sure many of you may feel the same and that person will appreciate a kindly word. When I have an outbreak and someone offers to go outside and get some air with me to cool off, it's greatly appreciated.

The second point is that I've maintained an extremely healthy diet and lifestyle, in an attempt to cut down on the triggers that set my Rosacea off. I've read some of the forum posts and this seems to be a very common topic of conversation. I think that living healthily is something you should feel very proud of. Not everyone has the willpower to do it, and I think that without this condition, I may not have chosen the lifestyle I currently have.