Thread: vbeam vs ipl and treatment of papules and pustules

Default vbeam vs ipl and treatment of papules and pustules

Here's a quick summary of me....I'm 34 and I've had mild/moderate rosacea for the last 15 years. I've had numerous ipl and vbeam treatments and consider myself very knowledgeable about rosacea, especially as I work in healthcare and have a good knowledge of anatomy and physiology. I've reviewed many websites and have spoken with many dermatologists. Truth is a hard thing to get in life. Anyways.....

My main concern with my rosacea has to do with papules and pustules, redness really isn't an issue (very mild) as I have type 2 rosacea. I want to know several things if anyone thinks they know the answers (and it'd be greatly appreciated). I have a good regimen and take 40 mg doxy daily and use metrogel twice daily with a good sunblock moisturizer over it. I am aware of my triggers, but I want to lead a normal life and not have to worry about triggers so much.

1. Does ipl or vbeam help with the pps (papules and pustules) of rosacea? If so, which is better and why does this work? Why is there no agreement amongst dermatologists?

I've asked dermatologists: 2 in NY claimed that ipl was very effective for pps, and after having treatments done, I agree. However, there were other variables with regards to topical and oral meds that were changing at the time so I'm not sure which variables led to the good results. 1 derm in RI said that the research doesn't support the use of ipl for pps. Derms in CT weren't realy certain either. My current derm in Boston says that some people think that it helps and some don't think so. He agreed that the research for vbeam shows that some people get no result and some get tremendous results for their pps from vbeam.