Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newbie here

Default Newbie here

Hi All,

I've had various skin and scalp problems over the years and now i've stopped taking any drugs (alcohol, nicotine, caffeine etc etc) my skin cleared up. I figured that as i'm 40 this year I should finally try to sort my skin/scalp issues.

About a month ago I had a few drinks of white wine each night for a few nights and my face became covered in red blotches and spots, some with pus. After about a week of healthy living and a couple of days off sick from work I was ok again.

last weekend I had two beers and 1 glass of white wine and Monday I woke up and skin was bad again. Didn't really clear till today so had another week off work. I can't keep doing this and I don't want to completely give up alcohol so I'm booked in with a dermatolgist on Thurday. (The doctors weren't great so I'm going private).

I wondered if anyone had such an extreme reaction to alcohol, is it just that I had time not drinking so drinking again causes such a violent reaction?

Anyway it's great to know a forum exists for this and I will update with news after Thursday.

Quote Originally Posted by gary2 View Post
    Hi All,

I wondered if anyone had such an extreme reaction to alcohol, is it just that I had time not drinking so drinking again causes such a violent reaction?

Anyway it's great to know a forum exists for this and I will update with news after Thursday.
    Hi Gary

As I sit here typing away and glancing at the clock to see if the big hand has reached 18.00 hrs yet (when I allow myself an alcoholic drink), I'm trying hard to find some words of wisdom and comfort.

But having been in the same situation as yourself many times I can only mention that both beer and wine are the worst drinks for me. I find spirits a lot better - whiskey or vodka with soda - and, as I pointed out, I try and wait until mealtime in the evening before drinking either of those.