Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: A Big Happy Hello from PA Dancer

Default A Big Happy Hello from PA Dancer

05/15/2007

Hey Everyone! I am a newbie to the Rosacea forum. I joined about a week or so ago, and have been trying to find time to organize my thoughts and post my hello to all of you.

I have Rosacea and as you all do…I hate it! But I accept the fact that I have it and I live with it. But I still hate it.
    : )

I can remember what I now think was my first flush. I was living in San Diego, CA and getting ready to go out to a company picnic. I wanted to look oh-so-pretty, so I put on a dress and sandals, and started to get ready to go out.

I had this bottle of moisturizer, Oil of Olay in the little pink bottle. I put some on my face and by the time I was ready to leave the house, my cheek looked like someone had just punched me. (Needless to say I won’t ever by that product line ever again.)

I thought maybe an allergic reaction…but I had used it before with no problems.

I can’t really remember the time between then and moving back to Pennsylvania, but I know once I moved back here…Hello Rosacea!

I went to my family doctor for a physical and asked why my cheeks were always red. They set up an appointment and off to the Dermatologist I went.

The first appointment, I remember leaving there crying. She said it looked like Rosacea, but we had to clear up the dry skin. I left there with a few sample tubes of Aclovate and a follow up appointment…And some of those horrible pamphlets showing the stages of Rosacea, including the bulbous nose. Eeek!

Wow! From what I can remember that Aclovate was great stuff! It had fixed my problems. My cheeks were just about back to normal…just a little red. But hey…maybe the redness was just because it was winter.

So to my follow up I go. I sit in the paper covered chair and the dermatologist comes in.