Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What is ocular rosacea? Related to Meibomian Dysfunction?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What is ocular rosacea? Related to Meibomian Dysfunction?

I am being treated for rosacea and have been for probably close to 10 years (different docs, different meds during that time), but it's been the same for the past 2 1/2 years. The reason, however, that I was searching for information has to do with ocular rosacea. I have an eye disease, ocular histoplasmosis, and along with it azoors, that I've been battling for nearly 6 years. This past weekend I saw my optometrist, who was on-call and wanted me to come in, knowing my eye disease history. While we were discussing and he was looking at my right eye for the ocular histo, I asked if he could take a peek at my left eye as the eye lid had been sore and itchy. He said I had capped tear glands and told me what to do. Today I woke up with very red eyes that were very itchy. I was miserable. I used the drops he'd given me and held warm wash cloths over my eyes. They got worse throughout the day. I felt as if I was standing in the center of a pile of burning leaves. My eyes burned. I called the optometrist's office and talked to the nurse. She said my doctor had written that I had I had meibomian dysfunction, and that dry eyes is a separate issue, but meibomian dysfunction can cause that. Searching on the internet, I kept finding references to ocular rosacea. I'm not familar with it. Any words of wisdom and good information here to help out? I know what the doctor's office has said to do, and I'm doing that, but wondering if there's a connection between these two things and how they are related. Thanks.

eye

Originally posted by BabyDance98 View Post