Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Protopic Caused Broken Capillaries? + Getting New Broken Capillaries Every Few Weeks

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Protopic Caused Broken Capillaries? + Getting New Broken Capillaries Every Few Weeks

Hi everyone,

I've been a lurker for about 4 months but this is my first time posting.

I apologize for the long read but I just really want to clearly explain my story to assist those who try to offer advice.

A bit of background on my skin. I have dehydrated skin. I have subtype 1 rosacea on my cheeks and seborrheic dermatitis on the sides of my nose.

6 months ago I damaged my epidermis (skin barrier) through using harsh skin care products and since then have had dehydrated skin. I'd wanted to start taking care of myself better so I felt skincare was a good place to start. I didn't know my skin type, and knew nothing about skincare. I'd honestly never suffered from any serious issues with my skin. I used my sisters skincare products which suited her face (oily/combination) but obviously were not right for mine. Over the course of 3 weeks my face became tight. I would stop using her products but was still left with a face that felt slightly tight. It was also shortly after this that I saw a dermatologist who told me I had both rosacea and seborrheic dermatitis. A week later, I tried a moisturizer I used to occasionally use when my face felt dry after a hot shower and thought everything would go back to normal... nope. I ended up breaking out on my forehead after a week, and after stopping the use of the moisturizer, I realized it had been the cause. This was June 7.

From June-July I stopped thinking about my skin. I was on vacation and had been working tremendously hard without vacations for a longtime so I felt I deserved the rest, plus my skin didn't feel that bad and aside from the tightness and a little redness on my nose, my face was relatively the same as before.